I see a floral shoe and I want to paint it black.

This project was hugely satisfying. I’ve had these shoes in my closet for something like 5 years. I wore them a couple of times one fair Spring when I was feeling particularly floral. Thankfully that phase ended painlessly. The thing is, I loved these shoes–they are super comfortable–and they have that big red button…so I couldn’t really part with them.

I always had it in my head that I could paint them, but the only time it ever occurred to me was when I wanted to actually wear the new and improved painted version–not when I had time to actually do the project.

I recently bought this little container of leather dye–it’s a thin, watery, toxic dye–I like to refer to it as liquid sharpie. And it worked perfectly.

Hey, new shoes:

About bricoshoppe

Bricolage is a store, low-brow gallery and workshop in downtown Boise, offering one of a kind, humanmade objects from makers around the country, as well as art prints, books, cards and other awesomeness.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

